Meknes: My New Home

First View of Meknes

After an amazing start to my trip, my group finally arrived in Meknes about 8 pm Saturday evening. Everyone was pretty tired, so we just had a quiet evening at our apartment. That being said, the apartment far exceeds what my expectations were for the housing I would have during this trip. I share my apartment with 4 other girls, all of whom are wonderful. It’s right off the main square, is attached to a police station, and is a 5 minute walk from school. As many would say: location, location, location. And I really lucked out!

My Apartment 

After being here a week, I spend a good part of my day hanging out in the apartment, working on homework and eating the delicious food our housekeeper, Khadijah, cooks for us. Part of the program fees include 19 of the 21 meals a week, so I’m eating authentic Moroccan cuisine nearly everyday. Yum! Khadijah is a total sweetheart as well. She doesn’t speak much English, and we don’t speak much Arabic, so our relationship is based on a lot of charades and Google Translate. So far it’s worked well. We’re hoping she’ll teach us how to make mint tea soon–fingers crossed!

DSCF1340First Meal in Meknes

As I said earlier, I’ve had a week to settle in. It’s certainly different than life in the States, but I’m enjoying it nonetheless. Hopefully my next post will highlight some of these differences.

Until next time!

-Libby

2 thoughts on “Meknes: My New Home

  1. HI LIBBY,
    I’M BACK FROM MY VISIT WITH BRIAN AND FAMILY.
    I SAW THE PHOTOS. WOW. LANDSCAPE LOOKS BEAUTIFUL AND OF COURSE DIFFERENT.
    HOPE YOUR STUDIES ARE GOING GOOD AND SMOOTHLY. WHAT AN EXPERIENCE SOMETHING I NEVER DID. BLESS YOU, SWEETHEART!!!
    LOVE GRANDMA

  2. Hi Libby! I’m eating this up! Looking forward to more posts. So glad you’re enjoying yourself-what an experience! Love- Aunt Mindy

Leave a Reply

